Posted by: Atty. Oliver Bulang | April 13, 2012

Speech of Atty. Oliver C. Bulang on the Occasion of Caraga State University’s Culmination Week (March, 2012)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our esteemed campus Dean, Dr. Lolita Maragañas,

The department heads, unit heads, officers and staffs of the Administrative Council

Our beloved Professors and Instructors,

To our dear students of Caraga State University, Cabadbaran Campus,

Ladies and gentlemen…

A blessed morning to all of us.

 

The thought of having to make a speech before a multitude of students in the institution that I have so much to thank for has always left me feeling excited and hopeful. So that as soon as I received an invitation for my appearance here as your guest speaker today, I readily agreed.

I readily agreed not only because I had that nagging desire to visit my alma mater but also because I wanted to prove a point, and a learning experience, just so you could draw some inspiration out of it. For whatever it’s worth to you.

I am also a product of this university, as what Ma’am Gina Vargas had said a while ago when she introduced me. To be honest, back in my days, I was never a promising student that my former teachers, which also happens to be your teachers now, could ever say. At least to me that was what I was. You can even ask them now and I know they will confirm.

While I can say that I was not a very good student at all, I belonged however to the so called “crack section” during my first year under Maam Enriquez, during the second year under Maam Omambac, during my third year under Maam Quesada, and even until my fourth year under Maam Jongko. But all throughout, nothing of significance had I ever accomplished or succeed. I did not excel in anything, in the strictest sense of the word, much less, graduate on top of the class.  The only thing that I was proud of was being a part of the school publication, “The Timberland”. I don’t know if it still exists now, under the auspices of the distinguished educator, Ma’am Judith Duerme, whom I and the rest of my classmates before had considered as our valuable mentor in English. Then again, I was a part of the school paper but I never got the single chance to publish any article, because I was only assigned as a cartoonist, although I doubt my artistic abilities back then.

You see, my point here is that, I was just a so-so student back in my days—an average individual just like most of you here if I may presume. Not that I regret not being a good student, not that I regret not having achieved something significant, not that I regret not having measured up with somebody’s expectations. It just that, despite all of my mistakes and limitations, there was something within me then—a burning desire to succeed and harness my potentials, the kind of will and determination that propelled great men to the height of their success.

And so I willed my destiny. What I lack in basic skills and abilities, I compensate by doing what most people hate: READING. I tried to be the best that I can be by using all the knowledge that I got and utilize them to further my learning even more. But success is not just a walk in the park. You have to sweat it out. You have to will it. You have to labor for it. You may stumble on the ground at times, but don’t give up. Because as what a certain philosopher had said before “I have yet to see a successful man who did not fail.”

Is there such a man? I don’t think so. If there is, then he/she might be a demi-god for that matter.

True enough. Success cannot be obtained without failures. Human as we are, we are bound to fail. But the beauty about being bound to fail is that, we are also bound to succeed. It is just a matter of time, with the right amount of effort and determination.  And of course, a whole lot of guidance and prayers from above.

Today, as I looked back from where I had been and from where I am now, I feel nothing but gratefulness and appreciation to the value of education that this institution, and all other universities I’ve attended to, have imparted me. You might not agree with me, but I can say with much conviction that you are all lucky to be a part of this institution, you are all lucky to have the kind of teachers and professors that you have now. I am a living witness to the value of the teachings and knowledge that this institution had shared with me during my high school days.

And I will forever be grateful of that.

And you know what, I was once like you before-―innocent, uncertain, at times unsure of my strengths and capabilities. But beyond all these limitations, I tried to lift myself up and took a bird’s-eye-view of things. It was then that I realized, just like anybody else, I was also capable of doing something extraordinary or something worthwhile. Why? Because I used the limits of my knowledge and the limitations of my strengths and build up on them. It’s like I was seeing the rays of the sun behind the thunderstorms.

And this is what I wanted you to realize.

Now, I would like you to know that success is also like a recipe. To achieve the best recipe, you need to have all the ingredients needed. But it does not end there. You also need to have the knowledge and skill on how to mix the ingredients in order to achieve a masterpiece. The way you use these ingredients with the skills that you have will now determine the kind of recipe that you will get.

Before I end this speech of mine I’d like to share with you some basic principles that I think will be very much useful to all students in general. As far as I’m concerned, they worked for me, and so there is no reason why they won’t work for you.

 

 

Firstly,

 

Never settle for anything less. Everybody is given the right to achieve growth and success no matter what your station in life may be. Just because you think you’re an average student doesn’t mean that you have to stop believing yourself. In short, dare to be different.

Secondly,

 

Success through hard work. Just so you would know, research now shows that lack of natural skills or talent is irrelevant to success. The research concludes that determination, fortitude of spirit, hard work and continuous practice are the secrets to success. You may have all the intelligence and talent in the world but if you stop believing in the power of hard work and constant practice, you will still end up nothing in the end.

Which brings me to my third point….

Challenge yourself. Don’t stop dreaming. If you think you were already able to achieve something. Don’t stop. Pursue it. If you don’t, you will become stagnant in the present because you fail to realize the vastness of your potentials.

 

Finally,  

Study. Study. Study. I could never over-emphasize this. There is no substitute for that. One has to put in enormous amount of hardwork in order to get or achieve something. Nobody is born to become great and successful. Success does not only favor the lucky few. It is also available to me and you.

I hope I was not taking so much time off your culmination program. And once again, thank you so much for granting me this opportunity to be a part of this program. I just hope that you will continue to harness your skills and potentials so that by the time you graduate and find a job of your own, you could also look back to this day and be proud of what you have achieved so far.

Cheers to you! Cheers to our teachers and professors! And cheers to the Caraga State University-Cabadbaran Campus!

God bless us all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

